Inspiration: Invasion of the Snatch Snatchers

In this article I will share the story of how I came up with the idea for Invasion of the Snatch Snatchers (as though you couldn’t guess).

I was watching some program with alien body snatchers, of course. You might think it was the 1956 film Invasion of the Body Snatchers but it wasn’t. It wasn’t even the 1978 remake. It was some goofy kids’ cartoon. In this version the alien didn’t actually know that much about the person it was impersonating (or human beings in general) and naively accepted any suggestion for proper behavior at face value. For example, if someone told the alien to “go jump in a lake” it would, you know, find a small body of water and jump in. It was hilarious if you’re five years old.

I got to thinking the situation offered more possibilities than just broad physical comedy, particularly if the alien body snatched a hot girl. You would obviously dupe the hot girl alien into having sex. That’s a no-brainer. Then I thought, what if the alien enjoyed the sex? And then switched sides as a result? The image of this hot girl urgently whispering “don’t go near that place” in order to protect her lover flashed into my mind.

This was definitely a story idea.

What could I call it? At this point I went back to the origin* of the whole concept: Invasion of the Body Snatchers. The film was so unique and original for its time that it has forever linked the term snatchers with body theft. For many of us, however, snatch is also well known as the second most vulgar nickname for female genitalia (behind cunt but ahead of twat). Combining both aspects of snatch into one title was so obvious I was surprised it hadn’t been done already.

Then I had second thoughts about the alien business. Even with the illicit sex it was a tired trope. I wanted to do something slightly more original. I remembered a news segment I had seen about cryogenic freezing. Some company would take your remains and freeze them solid until medical technology found a way to revive you. Baseball legend Ted Williams supposedly bought into the concept.

I, however, thought it sounded like just another scam to bilk money out of old people. Is this company really going to cover the expense of keeping a bunch of long-forgotten corpses at -320 degrees indefinitely? If they don’t, how are you going to ask for a refund? You’re dead. And if they do, who in 100 years is going to give two shits about reviving your dead ass? It just doesn’t make sense. In other words, it was perfect for my story.

Read the result on Amazon Kindle!

bitmap

* actually the true origin would have to be the 1954 book, The Body Snatchers by Jack Finney, but I hadn’t even heard of that until just now

Leave a Reply

