Inspiration: Amanda Baker Shakes Her Moneymaker

This story was inspired by the Patient Lee Radio Challenge. PL is a well-known author of Erotic Realism. That’s not a genre I work in very often (I can handle the erotic, it’s the reality that trips me up) but can be powerful when done well.

Anyway the idea is you turn on your radio and write a story inspired by the first song that plays. I think the origin of the challenge was Patient’s own story Gay Greenhorn (which if you haven’t read, you should) and how it was inspired by the song Midnight Train to Georgia. It’s the sort of exercise that shows off the creativity and ingenuity of a writer, so I wasn’t sure I could pull it off. But then one night I got in my car and heard Shake Your Moneymaker by the Paul Butterfield Blues Band playing on the radio.

I told myself, “If you can’t write an erotic story inspired by a song about ass shaking you need to hang up your keyboard.”

The term moneymaker makes me think of strip clubs and men stuffing dollar bills in g-strings. Including an exotic dancer was an obvious choice, but I didn’t want to be too obvious. I mean, a story about a professional stripper shaking her booty — where’s the drama in that? It would be much more fun if someone unexpected got up on stage.

So I started to think of ways to guilt trip a straight-laced, shy woman into a nude dance (not that I’ve ever done that IRL). One thing about straight-laced women — they value personal responsibility. Strippers and bachelor parties go together like peanut butter and jelly (at least in erotic fiction), so I envisioned our heroine feeling responsible for the success of an important bachelor party event.

The party planner idea made a lot of sense here, but I also wanted the woman to be in a somewhat more vulnerable position — desperation is also a strong motivator. So I thought maybe she’s a not particularly successful party planner and got this job as a personal favor from the groom-to-be.

Then you have a personal relationship between the bachelor and the stripper. That creates many possibilities for additional naughtiness. Taboo can be super fun, am I right? I decided step-brother and sister made the most sense from an age standpoint and ran with that.

But even with the taboo I felt the story needed something. It was a little flat (not round and perky the way I like). I decided to play with this idea of breaking boundaries with someone you trust and went into a little spanking kink at the end. I like how that hits (pun intended) on the butt theme once again, too.

Grab this one on Amazon Kindle!

 

Leave a Reply

