Publicity Image: Dora’s Makeover

I’ve been working on a publicity image for Dora’s Box, and I decided to give you all a little sneak preview. I was so inspired by Robert McGinnis’ brilliant painting for the Breakfast at Tiffany’s poster that I just had to try my hand at creating my own version. This image represents Dora after her roommate, Julia, has put her through a complete makeover. Dora is starting to come out of her shell and build confidence in herself. She’s ready to take on the world!

Like all of my book covers, this was drawn in Inkscape. Most of the techniques are ones that I used in the Swapship Troopers cover: color gradients give her skin tone more natural variation. Highlights are made by putting down a white spot and blurring the hell out of it. Shadows are done in much the same way. One big difference is body shape. Quantrill from Swapship Troopers is a short, voluptuous woman. Dora, however, is long and lean (which is why the McGinnis painting seemed so perfect).

Another technique I haven’t done before is sequins. Fucking sequins! I couldn’t figure out how to make them look real, so I had to draw every single fucking sequin. Actually there was a lot of copy/paste involved (thank Jove for computers) but it still took for-damn-ever. I think it turned out pretty well, but I can’t recommend this method unless you don’t mind going crazy.

rect10493
Fucking Sequins

Of course, I meant this to look like Audrey Hepburn, but my artistic skill is not quite up to that challenge apparently. For some reason she looks more like Keira Knightley. Oh well. There are worse things.

rect10493
Holly Golightly or Elizabeth Swann? It’s a work in progress.

 

Hey, go to Amazon and read the book!

tiffanys04

Leave a Reply

